The drunk driving defense attorneys at Takakjian & Sitkoff, LLP have over 70 years of combined experience defending 1st offense DUI charges throughout the Glendale area. Recognized amongst the best drunk driving defense lawyers in Glendale, attorneys Paul Takakjian and Stephen Sitkoff bring with them a combination of compassionate yet aggressive representation for their clients. If you are facing a 1st offense DUI in Glendale, contact our law firm today at (818) 572-9090 for a free case review.
First Offense DUI Charges In Glendale: The Criminal Court And DMV
A 1st DUI in Glendale involves two independent legal actions taken by the California DMV and the other by the Glendale criminal court. Thus, a successful outcome in court involving a plea to lesser offense such as Wet Reckless would not necessarily guarantee no license suspension as your license can still be suspended if you lose your DMV hearing. That is why it is critical that you consult with a qualified defense attorney with extensive experience defending DUI charges in Glendale Court and the Van Nuys DMV Driver Safety Office.
Your DMV License Suspension Hearinge
Your driver’s license will be confiscated by the arresting officer after your drunk driving arrest and you will be issued a pink document which will operate as your temporary license for the next 30 days. In addition to its function as your temporary license, the document, also known as the DS367 form, serves as your official notice of your right to request a separate hearing from court to contest the DMV’s Admin. Per Se (APS) suspension. It is important to note your request must be submitted within 10 calendar days of your arrest, or else the DMV’s automatic 4-month suspension would go into effect even before you have seen a judge.
Your Glendale Court Case
If your DUI arrest occurred in the city of Glendale, your notice to appear in court will direct you to Glendale Court within a month or so to be arraigned on your DUI charges. It is through the your criminal court action that you would face the criminal punishments and penalties, such as probation, fines, DUI classes, and community service. In addition to the court imposed punishments, a DUI conviction in court would then trigger California’s mandatory IID requirement.
First Offense DUI Penalties In Glendale
The majority of Glendale drunk driving charges are prosecuted as misdemeanors charged under California Vehicle Code sections 23152(a) and 23152(b), which makes it a misdemeanor crime to drive with drugs in your system or with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.05% or 0.08% or more. Although a standard first DUI in Glendale very rarely results in jail sentences, the punishments can still be harsh as you face the following consequences:
- Approximately $2,000 in fines and penalty assessments
- A 6-month driver’s license suspension
- Up to 5 years of probation
- Mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
- Up to 9-months of DUI classes
Contact Our Glendale DUI Firm Today
If you have been arrested for a first offense DUI Glendale, Burbank, or the surrounding area, contact our drunk driving defense experts today at (818) 572-9090 to schedule a free consultation. As former DUI prosecutors with an unmatched level of experience acquired from both sides of the courtroom, our defense lawyers possess a rare combination of skill and insight most firms can not duplicate. There is no obligation so call our Glendale office now.
AWARD WINNING SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA DUI DEFENSE LAW FIRM
Schedule a Complimentary Initial Consultation
Our Firm Specializes in the Following Types of Law...
Serving all of Southern California with DUI legal defense. We always offer a free initial consultation and know how to protect your rights and defend your future.
We have multiple locations across Southern California to serve you best.
444 W. Ocean Blvd., Suite 800
Long Beach, CA 90802
Reach out to our legal team anytime to discuss your individual situation.
Copyright © 2017 | Takakjian & Sitkoff, LLP | All Rights Reserved
The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.